Posted by: aceanderic | November 5, 2008

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 5 (day 178)

Almost six months has passed, and our story still continues. We’ve turned the page to chapter two of our “book”, and we have multible chapters left to go. I’ve learned how to be patience, and measure advances in tiny increments, too small on some days but they are there. Eric told me that he can’t see the progress he’s making, so I hope one day he will. We’re going to set up goals together, I’ve created checklists so he can go back and see what’s been accomplished. Step by step, Eric is coming back. Our day today was relaxing, and yet stressful at the same time. I spent more time making sure he’s getting enough water, food, taking his medicine on the correct time, so I forgot to take care of myself. But overall it was really nice to just be at home together. We will slowly learn how to live our new life together, and Eric has already made a few good suggestions. Our near future circles around outpatient rehab visits, rehab at home, in-home care, day programs for brain injury survivors, doctor visits, quality time together with friends and family members, making sure we financially survive, dealing with insurance, paper work and attorneys. Our long-term future is still unknown, but I hope Eric one day will be able to work again. A few weeks ago the doctor told me that Eric most likely won’t be able to work ever again. I’m not worried since we’re proven the doctor wrong a few times throughout this process, and I’m almost positive he will do so again.

Six months ago, we were slowly packing up our lives to move to Sweden to fulfill our dreams about a higher quality living with less stress. Our lives took an unexpected turn and I have instead agreed to do volunteer work as a project manager with Brain Injury Association of Oregon (www.biaoregon.org), a job which hopefully will lead to a paid position shortly. I’d like to help others in a similar position as myself, I hope I have more to give because there are so many out there needing help. Every 23 seconds, one person in the US sustains a Traumatic Brain Injury. An estimated 5.3 million Americans currently live with disabilities resulting from Traumatic Brain Injury. Who would have thought Eric would be one? I’ve decided to take a step down from maintaining this blog daily. Our lives will go on and this blog will too, but in a different shape and reason. Expect to see a change soon.

Eric called several of his friends today to let them know he’s home, and he’d like to see their faces again. He miss you guys, and said he’s been lonely for too long and wants your company again. Instead of reading the blog, please come and visit us, pick up the phone or send Eric an email. Please do keep on checking this blog for updates and other useful information about TBI.

I have to run now, Eric is ringing the bell I put up by the bed for when he needs my help. He’s already used this bell several times today, he’s getting too darn smart for himself; he knows he can get me do do anything for him (for now!).

Responses

  1. I hope you can still manage to find some time for yourself in all of the stress that you experience day in and day out– and keep your optimistic attitude. Your blog has been very inspiring to me and reminds me of what is important in life.

  2. Once gain – good luck. Since I am just a reader and not really acquainted, I will miss your daily updates. I too would love to see some posts from Eric himself.

    I would love to send you a wireless doorbell. Having been through something similar I found a wireless doorbell to be a much better choice then a bell. Not only are they louder, but you can take the sound producing part with you. It can sit on the bathroom counter while you shower and go to the yard with you when do yard work. Plus, it is easier to generate the noise. One little push of a button for Eric and you have a loud annoying tune blasting in your ear. Eric can also wear the button around his neck or carry it in his pocket.

    I will have Amazon send it to you. If you can email me an address to send it too, I will order it right away. Or if you have a public Amazon wishlist you want to add one to, let me know how to find the list and I will order it through that.

    Also would you prefer extra loud like http://www.amazon.com/Portable-Super-Loud-Doorbell-Receivers/dp/B000IMCA94/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1225990470&sr=8-2 or normal like http://www.amazon.com/Heath-Zenith-SL-6142-C-Wireless-Transmitters/dp/B000HEKUO0/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1225990470&sr=8-4 or something else?

  3. We have read your updates every single day and have appreciated all the effort you have put into keeping people posted on the highs and lows of Eric’s recovery process. You both are truly an inspiration and remind us how precious life is. We wish you the best of luck at home and want you to know you are in our thoughts daily!
    Love, Dave and Tiffany Vermeulen

  4. You are an amazing Wife, Person, Woman… Bless you and your family. It is all happening now and I promise that someday you will look at him and think ” DId you really have that Horrible accident?” You are doing a great job and he is so lucky to have you. One day when he can he will thank you for standing by his side.
    :)

  5. Eric and Anna-Carin, I am so glad to read that Eric is home and that he is recovering. He may not remember me, it’s been a few years, but I always thought Eric was a genuine person and wish him all the best. Just wanted to let you know you have another “old friend” thinking of you. Sincerely, Stephanie Adkins (formerly Mitchell from RMS Co.)

  6. I haven’t written in some time. All of this has been pretty emotional, and I don’t know either of you. I’m so glad Eric is home, as he is too! Eric, there are people you’ve never met, who don’t know you, but are pulling for you. Keep trying, listen to Ace (and your dogs) you will be on a bike sometime soon.

    Be strong, my friend.

  7. I’ll miss your daily updates. I’m one of those internet people who heard about Eric’s plight and started coming here around 170 days ago. (Thanks to drunkcyclist bringing attention to his accident) It’s been amazing to watch love bring Eric back from the brink. It has affected how I live my life. Godspeed on this new chapter in your lives.

    Hopefully you’ll still let us know how things are going. It’s been an amazing journey to watch.

  8. Thank you for sharing your experience.
    I was visiting my family in Switzerland when my brother-in-law had a brain injury as a result from a bicycle accident. He needed surgery and it will be a long road but he is graduating to the day program on the 15th of this month (hurrah!).
    I have been touched by everybody, even strangers, who have rallied around Roland in this difficult time. As you know, it takes many people. Please contact me if there is any way I can help.
    My best wishes to both of you.
    Cornelia

  9. I’ve been following you two since bikeportland.org posted about you, almost at the beginning. Congrats on all your progress Eric. We haven’t had an update in a few days, I’m hopeful that you guys are adjusting ok with Eric coming home.

    Jim

  10. Hey Ace was trying to remember where I saw the “bell” before.
    Pls show this to Eric I’m sure he will have a laugh…..

  11. Eric & Ace – I just got caught up on the blog after being out of town for a week.

    Hooray, you’re home!

    We want to come see you, or again, would love to have to over for dinner and have the mutts play with Jazzy.

  12. Eric & Anna Carin,

    Congrats on arriving home after many months of hard work. Pace yourselves and relish the little milestones. I would love to come visit and help you out Anna if you need any. Let me know. I am praying for you.

    b


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

