Posted by: aceanderic | November 10, 2008

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 10 – 1st week at home

Almost a week has passed since Eric came home and we’re slowly adjusting to our new lives. It’s been one busy week, and at the same time relaxing because I don’t have to go to a hospital to see my husband. I’m constantly by his side day and night, and I don’t mind taking care of him. It’s been so long since I cooked him a meal, talked with him in our living room by the fire, had him in the house so I actually enjoy assisting him, but it is draining and I know we can’t have it like this for long. I have a few meetings planed with in-home caregivers and I hope to find the perfect fit.

I can tell that Eric is really struggling, but he’s doing a good job and he’s positive with things for the most part. We went out for brunch last week on a weekday with a friend. The restaurant was almost empty with just one small group of guests by a table when we arrived. I’d given Eric a heads-up that it’s going to be challenging for him to just be outdoors, he didn’t understand me until he tried. He made it through the meal at the restaurant, but he was exhausted afterwards and slept almost the whole day when we came home. Same thing happened today when we went to the local market; like any brain injury survivor the florescent lighting at the store was really difficult for him to handle, even with sunglasses on. I’ve had the opportunity to leave the house a short time daily, thanks to friends and family who’s been over. I’ve spent this time with the dogs; they act so confused, and they are scared off the walker so it’s been nice for all of us to take a break.

It’s nice to see that Eric hasn’t lost his sense of humor. I’ve seen glints of “the old Eric” in between the confusion and his disability, which is really nice to see. He’s brought me many laughs these past days. I’m sure he’s surprised many of his friends with a phone call. Some who came to see him at our house found themselves struggling with holding the emotions and tears back. I understand your feelings and I appreciate your effort in giving us a helping hand.

Responses

  1. hey
    find us on skype!!!
    love the mowats

  2. Hi Eric and Anna-Carin,
    Yep, I’m a stranger,too. I saw one of your posts as a possible link to an soldier in Afghanistan.

    I read your story, and I sense that some people are not as optimistic as they should be. I had a benign brain tumor that was supposed to kill me if it ruptured, but as you can see it did and it didn’t. It did cause a serious infection which still flares up from time to time, but during this adventure I learned a lot about the brain in my own research. Basically you’ve got to exercise your brain to build, re-structure, and strengthen the synapses process.

    I’m sure you have been inundated with information, but I have one more for you. The Sanger Institute & here is an article about this very issue: http://www.sanger.ac.uk/Info/News-releases/2007/070305.shtml

    I thought possibly you might want to connect with him. He’s a good kid trying to do the right thing. He has a lot of dreams. One is publishing his blog. Another is finding a motorcycle and driving down and around South America back to the states. His name is Sargent Cwalinski.

    I’m not for the war, but I am for the troops. He is the first soldier that I have connected in a day to day situation with. Since you need to work your brain, what better way than to read something really interesting and worthwhile. Just a thought. His site is: http://alexpeterc.wordpress.com/

    And I’ll just close this with my thoughts about you, Eric. Don’t let others tell you your limitations. You are the master of your own destiny. You are only limited by yourself. People may tell you that you won’t ever be the same again. They’re right! You are the New Eric. Just like Anna-Carin has re-focused her life, so will you.

    Peace,
    The New Dena

  3. Oops, wrong address on the last one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mut_T0GcehI

  4. Anna-Carin, we’ve only met once (at Dave and Trevor’s), but I just want you to know that I follow your blog and send good thoughts and prayers your way. I can’t imagine what you’re going through, and I admire the tremendous strength you have.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

