Posted by: aceanderic | June 5, 2008

THURSDAY, JUNE 5 (day 25)

I start my days the same everyday; I walk in to the room and clean my hands witch is mandatory, hold Eric’s hands, and then I say; “Hi Eric, it’s Anna-Carin, your wife. Today is [date], you’re at the hospital, you have today been here for X days. Don’t worry, everything is going to be ok, we’ll get through this” and then I say “Eric, squeeze my hand!”, I wait and wait “Squeeze my hand Eric!” I say again. After a while of waiting, I tell him “It’s ok honey, we’ll try tomorrow again. You just rest now ok”. It’s of course a disappointment having to wait longer for Eric to respond. I have this under control, but I can’t deal with thoughts about the future, not yet. The Trauma Surgeon asked me today if I’ve made any rehabilitation plans yet. Rehab? Hey, I’m still in denial…I haven’t thought of this yet. I don’t want to. At least three hours of rehab for X days/months/years, living in a home for special care patients….no thank you…I’m absolute not ready to think about that, not today or tomorrow. I just need Eric to first get off the breathing support to 100%, and then start showing me signs of “waking up”, I’ll deal with the future another day. Perhaps I’ll have enough strengths to deal with that then.

I’d like to thank for everyone’s comments and suggestions on how to move forward with Corporate America. Much appreciated.


Responses

  1. ace, we love you both. keep your chin up!
    mitch & liz

  2. Stay strong. We’re all over the country, and we’re with you, every day.

  3. Hang in there. I have complete faith that Eric will open his eyes and make some smartass remark. It may take a while, but we are behind you 100%. Love from all of us,
    Cassie

  4. You don’t know me but I am a friend of Marci’s. I want to let you know that my family is praying for you and Eric. God is faithful and he will give you the strength you need to get through this. I believe your husband will pull through. He sounds like a very strong man.

    Ruth

  5. I don’t know you but I did go to elementary, middle and high school with Eric. Even so, I didn’t know him then, but knew who he was. I heard about the accident through some other friends I don’t know very well via Facebook.

    I clicked through to your blog and am very moved by what you and he are going through. I’m not a praying man, but I will keep you in my thoughts.

    Gwon Chang

  6. Anna,
    I so admire you writing everyday to keep everyone informed. Such a great “lady” with a lot of strength! Eric is a very lucky man to have such a wonderful woman in his life to support and love him through this tough, tough time. You are amazing!

    When you see Eric tomorrow tell him that Mrs. Murray (Jan) asked you to give him a kiss for her! And, that she wants to see his great smile again not to mention his high energy driven laugh!!

    Anna, we have met but always when there has been a houseful of people so you probably don’t remember my name. I am a friend of Pam, Pepper and the Davidson kids. We lived down the road from them in Newport Hills and our kids grew up together! I always could count on a big hug from Eric and even had a cocktails together at Bellevue Square when he worked there I think as a bartender! Thats been some time ago!

    Anna, know that our family is praying for you and Eric and that you are in our thoughts.

    My Love to You Both
    Jan Murray


Leave a Reply

Categories

