Posted by: aceanderic | June 9, 2008

MONDAY, JUNE 9 (day 29)

The morning was uneventful, Eric was in bed sleeping and did not respond to anything. I came back from lunch and I found that the nurse had moved him over to a special chair with plenty of support. I told Eric about my day and after a while he actually opened up his eyes. I held his hand, we looked each other in the eyes and I told him to stay strong, friends and family all over the country are praying and fighting for him, I asked him to fight for his life, and that I’m right next to his side fighting with him. I told him that we have a long road a head of us but we’re going to make it. Then he squeezed my hand! The Neurosurgeon would most likely tell me that it was a reflex, and that Eric could not hear or see me. I rather go with my own instinct and say that Eric COULD hear me and that was his way of responding. He squeezed my hand and wouldn’t let go off it. It was awesome.


Responses

  1. Absolutely awesome news.

  2. Love it! Great news ACE!! I think you’re right, he is with us and wants us to know. You have a beautiful peaceful strength about you along with great instincts. Keep up the fight and journey sista. Remember we’re always here for you no matter what. xoxo

  3. It is difficult to imagine that, given the way you describe things, he didn’t hear something and respond.
    It is certainly not hard to imagine that, as he heals, he is having moments of some perception.
    I can’t wait to see him tomorrow.

  4. Ditto

  5. Dig deep and pull threw, my prayers are with you!
    Very Great News.

  6. I am friend of Gina’s and I have never met Eric or Ace, but I think about you guys everyday. I can’t wait to check on Eric’s progress everyday, and I so look forward to the day he wakes up. God Bless

  7. Im with you Ace, that was him responding! Praying every day for the two of you and your families.

  8. Anna-Carin , thats terriffic!! I cry every morning reading your blog and am so amazed at your strength. Eric is very lucky to have you by his side every day. He IS with us and he IS fighting to come back, and everyone will see that on Erics time frame. We’ll wait and see when that magical day comes. Its going to be soon I think. Keep up the incredible work ACE and always know we are here for you.

  9. The MacLachlan family wants you to know our thoughts and prayers are with you. I truly believe Eric will soon recover and that he will be calling me any day now with his next big investment idea. He is a go getter! – keep the faith! Kent MacLachlan

  10. Hey Anna-Carin,
    Angie told me about your blog this morning. I am sitting here reading this and thinking how strong you are and how determined you are and Eric is Lucky to have you on his side as well as his whole family and hospital staff. I have a friend who works in er at Emanuel all really good people! Just want to let you know that if you need a little respite from home come on down to the restaurant I’ll be happy to chat and laugh with you. Also, if you need some one to take the furry babies for a hike I will be happy to help out! Adam and I are sending all our good vibes and prayers towards you and Eric.
    Sarah

  11. Hello

    I am praying for Eric. My brother got ran over on his bicycle and is in critical condition. He has been in the hospital for 2 years now. The whole family hopes he will recovery and become his self again. He is bed ridden and cannot eat. He is still feeding from a tube. He came out of his coma and is aware of his surrounding. It will take some time to Eric to recovery. He will get better day by day.

    God Bless

  12. Hi, Anna-Carin. You don’t know me, but I was watching your story on the news tonight and I thought to myself that you may want to talk to my friend, Cristina Hopkin. Her husband was crushed between two cars at the Portland airport. He almost lost his legs because of the accident. It, luckily was not a hit and run, there were several witnesses. Thought the stories were similar. She had a journal through a website called caringbridge.org She made daily entries and people could sign the guest book. I guess it is a lot like what you have here in this blog – just thought you might find it comforting to know you are not alone. If you go to http://www.caringbridge.org enter: joelhopkin to get the journal. The power of prayer will get you through this – we will all pray for you and Eric.

  13. Anna-Carin
    I worked with Eric and Paul when they had their office in downtown PDX. I would go see them and your very big dog that was a part of the office. I represented the escrow company they used. I also met you when you and Eric were in Home Depot one summer day. Anyway, you are both in my prayers and I know Eric will pull through this. If I can help you in any way, please let me know.

    Bernie Rask

  14. Hello Ace,
    I too saw the story on the tv (thanks to kgw-nbc for airing it).
    I can relate to your story! I was in an accident, albeit a motorcycle NOT a bicycle, in 1987. I came as close as one can come to loosing his life…by the GRACE OF GOD I am still living. I started with a life-flight helicopter ride that I will never be able to remember, 3 1/2 months inpatient at Emory University Hospital, followed by 2 1/2 years of out-patient rehabilitation. I was diagnozed as having suffered a Traumatic Brain Injury as well as having having several broken bones.
    I always looked at the positive side of life, since I was given a second attempt. I now ride a bicycle for fitness and companionship.
    Is or was Eric ever comatose? He indeed knows you are with him, even though he may not be able to express himself by speaking. My family was told to talk to me and rub my arm and make my room like I was aware of everything, because I really was aware of the feeling of love. The feeling of belonging here really makes a difference in recovery!
    I have so many related stories I could tell you…such limited space. I do not know what drew me to write in your blog…I would like you and your family to know that Eric knows you are with him. He has been blessed, as well as anyone praying for him will be.
    Please contact me with any questions!
    Thomas


Leave a Reply

Categories

