Posted by: aceanderic | June 13, 2008

FRIDAY, JUNE 13 (day 33)

Today’s surgery didn’t go as well as we’d hoped. The doctor couldn’t complete the surgery due to some complications so the procedure will get finished up tomorrow with help of special tools and a CT Scan. I don’t like to hear words from the doctor like “complications”, “Eric”, “in 20 years I’ve never seen this happened” and “brain”… Eric is now back in bed resting for the night. I hope he’s strong enough for a new round tomorrow. He was pretty awake before the surgery today. During his physical therapy this morning the nurse moved his left arm up, down and to the sides. His right scapula is fractured which I bet hurt a whole lot. Before the nurse started with Eric’s right arm, he raised his left arm and pointed towards his scapula, letting the nurse know to be careful because he’s in pain there. The nurse looked at me in surprise, and all I could do was to nod and smile.


Responses

  1. Hang in there. It will be fine.

  2. I’m sorry they strung all those words together in a sentence. I’m thrilled he pointed to his injured shoulder. Hang tough, we’re with you.

  3. Just read your blog from day 1 and my heart goes out to you. My husband had an accident a year ago with similar injuries and was also in Emanuel’s ICU and TRACU for over 7 weeks, multiple surgeries, tracheotomy, g-tube, etc. It’s definitely the hardest thing for him and his family to go through. My husband is now at home and recuperating nicely but I’m not going to paint a rosy picture for you. It’s still hard work. But, like you, we got through it and things are definitely getting better and we sometimes have a good laugh. If you haven’t already met her, Jean Ellen Herzog, the chaplain at Emanuel is awesome.
    If you need to talk or vent or just have questions, you have my email.

  4. We are all with you my dear. Thank You so much for keeping us all updated on your daily ups and downs. Even from afar we want to cheer and cry with/for you and Eric. Stay strong the bosy is amazing and Eric is even more amazing then most.

    Lots of Love & Luck

    Heather and BOB

  5. My name is Shelley and I am one of Marci’s very good friends. I have known the Davidson’s for close to 20 years. I thank you for sharing with all of us everyday. I just told Marci the other day I feel like I know you so well as I come to read what is going on daily. We are continuing to pray for both you and Eric, and we are following every step and praying! Keep strong!


Leave a Reply

Categories

