Posted by: aceanderic | June 26, 2008

THURSDAY, JUNE 26 (day 46)

Eric has three new very important women in his life, under normal circumstances I might have been jealous, but I thank them every day for their tremendous work. They worked him hard today, and they will continue to do so five days a week. I’m talking about his Physical Therapist (PT), Occupational Therapist (OT) and Speech Language Pathologist (SLP). I missed the session they had with Eric today, which is a bummer, but talking to them it sounds like they were extremely thrilled with Eric’s work today. We started the long process of removing the trachea; first step today was to deflate the “balloon” just a little, which gave room in his airway for salvia in his mouth. Today was just a test to see how Eric would do. I know it sounds silly in our regular world, but for Eric this was huge; he managed to swallow salvia on command. I guess he even made a noise; I say, of course he did, he’s a Davidson and that family sure knows how to talk. I’m married into the family so I’m more quiet..


Responses

  1. Congrats for you and Eric. He’ll keep moving forward and if he has anything to “SAY” about it, I’m sure it’ll be faster than what’s good for him, but since when do we do what’s best for us, rather than what we want. Hang in there, we’re all with you in spirit and you are with us in our prayers. Lots of Love and Luck

    Heather and BOB

  2. What may sound silly to the regular world is indeed huge in his. I’m thrilled that he’s continuing to move forward. Sounds like you’ve got a awesome team assembled. I think you’ll start seeing leaps and bounds of improvement in the coming weeks.

  3. Ace,

    I am so happy to hear that Eric is making such great progress. All those steps that might seem little to us, are huge for him. Thank you for your daily updates. You both are in my prayers daily.

    Bernie

  4. Every step forward, no matter how small, is a huge milestone and paves the way for subsequent progress. It is thrilling to read of Eric’s accomplishments.

  5. Yeah! Sounds like you guy’s are moving forward! I’m very happy for you.
    Have a wonderful weekend.

  6. Oh please, just because you are married in- you can totally keep up! So glad to hear such wonderful news. Keep working hard Eric! Love, Cas

  7. Dear ACE: Sorry we had not been in touch for a few days, we were in Costa Rica, flew back on Wednesday. Read all about Eric’s progress and John & I are very thrilled with what he has accomplished. I am so glad that your Mom and brother gave you such a special surprise, I know they will be of great help to you. Will be driving into Pta. Chame tomorrow morning. Am leaving now to Temple, Eric’s name is always mentioned on Fridays and Saturdays, it will be so until we see him again..Take care and please let us know if we can be of any help here in Panama. I am sure the Rehab Spa will do wonders for ERic. Blessings, Julieta & Johnny

  8. ACE, I’m so encouraged by everything I’m hearing. I’m planning on getting out there on Monday. Please tell everyone I said hello. I’m excited to see his progress


Leave a Reply

Categories

