Posted by: aceanderic | June 28, 2008

SATURDAY, JUNE 28 (day 48)

It was a fun visit with Eric today and his communication was awesome. I’ve never seen as much interaction from him since the accident so I’m glad his sister plus all the visitors got to see it with me. Our neighbors came by and on the question “Are you happy to see me?”, Eric gave him his thumbs up. We moved outside later in the day to enjoy the sun. Eric sitting in his special chair, sunglasses on, shorts and a T-shirt from home. It was so nice to see him in his regular clothes and not the hospital gown, which he’s been in the whole time. On the question “Isn’t it nice to be outside?”, Eric gave us thumbs up. On the question, “Can you hear us?”, Eric gave us thumbs up. Eric’s long-time friend Bill came by and on the question “Are you happy to see Bill?”, Eric gave us a thumbs up, plus it looked like he reached out his hand for a handshake. Awesome! I later tried to put a citrus pop in his mouth, which is for a dry mouth. He liked the one I gave him earlier today so I thought he’d like this one too. I said; “Give me thumbs up if you like it.” No response. “Ok, show me a finger if you don’t like it” I said. And Eric gave me THE finger; yes he flipped me off with his left finger. That’s my dear husband. He was communicating by either thumbs up for a yes or the finger for a no.

Overall I must say that Eric is very aware of the surroundings and what’s happening WITH him, he’s just not able to articulate yet, but he will sooner or later. He is of course sleeping a lot but when he’s awake, it truly looks like he’s with us.


Responses

  1. That’s great. He is present and aware what is going on and can understand you. What a great weekend.

    Cheers.

  2. That’s so cool. Glad to see he has his sense of humor with him!

  3. That’s the Dav I remember! Always real quick with the F.U. I hope you stuck it in his mouth anyway.. Best news I’ve heard in a while. Ace your my hero hang in there.

  4. I’m so happy for you!!!

  5. Have you ever experienced such joy after being flipped off?😀

    You may not notice, being there all the time, but reading daily reports it’s obvious that he’s making leaps of progress. God bless you both.

  6. Anna-Carin,

    Now that’s the Eric I know it just keeps on getting better he will speak soon and say something crazy I can see it coming soon, but so typical of Eric to flip off someone..still in my thoughts and prayers daily Anna-Carin and Eric.

    KB

  7. I am so happy things are going well. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

