Posted by: aceanderic | July 8, 2008

TUESDAY, JULY 8 (day 58)

Hi, this is Eric’s sister Marci writing tonight. I gave Anna-Carin the “day off.” I was hoping she would relax a little but she spent all day catching up on paperwork…UGH! Well, Eric was tired today. He did spend 30 minutes sitting and working with Tina (OT). Tina asked Eric to help her put his shirt on, he was not as much help today but she was so very patient and Eric finally did get his arms in and pulled it over his head. She also did some arm stretching with him. This obviously pained him and pained me deeply. This was so very difficult for me to watch. I sat there watching him and agonized as he struggled. It took every ounce of my strength to not cry……….ok it didn’t work, I sobbed. It was so difficult to watch Eric not be able to do the most simplest task. Don’t get me wrong, I am so please with his progress. It is just so unbelievable we are in this situation at all.

A little later they came to get him to try the standing frame again. He stood for 10 minutes. I think I held me breath the entire 10 minutes. It was a very very long ten minutes that turned out GREAT. Eric did well, he was not as alert as yesterday but did tolerate the entire 10 minutes without any problems. Melissa (SLP) had the balloon in this throat deflated for three hours today………..HE DID PERFECTLY! Tomorrow will be a big day.  Melissa is going to try to see if Eric can breath through his mouth and/or nose.

Thank you to all of you for all you support of Eric and Anna-Carin. Our family can’t even put into words how grateful we are for all your prayers and positive thoughts.


Responses

  1. Hi Marci,
    I have been thinking about you and Gina and your mom and the rest of your family so much!!! And of course Anna-Carin, who I don’t know, but if she is a Davidson she must be wonderful! 🙂 I have been reading Anna-Carin’s posts and following Eric’s progress- he is so lucky to have all of you and your extended network of family and friends. I am keeping up the good thoughts for Eric and for all of you. You are an amazing bunch.

    All my love,
    Lorraine Lokosh Smith

  2. Marci- thanks for the update. Mike and I are traveling down the weekend of the 26th. Please let us know if there is anything you or ACE need, or that we can do when there to help. -Cassie

  3. Marci – I have been reading the updates daily. My thoughts and prayers are with Eric and your families. Hang in there!

  4. Marci,

    Mirroring Lorraine, we continue to follow Eric’s progress and are so grateful that he has each of you at his side and of course Anna-Carin. We appreciate the updates and sharing such a precious part of your lives. Our thoughts are with each of you everyday. Anna-Carin, I know we have never met, however if you need anything, please feel free to get in touch with me at anytime, I am relocating to Portland next month, and would be pleased to help you out when able.

    Jennie Wine (and the entire Wine Family)

  5. HI, guys.
    This is Kirsten Vesely here. I wanted you all to know that we say a prayer for Eric every evening together.
    And we keep you all– family and ANna- Carin– in our thoughts daily.

    Eric is a tough cookie. He will pull through this. Look how hard he’s fighting! I know you hear this all the time, but you can never have too many positive reminders.

    He is so lucky to have such a strong support system.
    We love you, Eric!
    Continue to be strong- all of you!
    God bless you, Anna-Carin. You are amazing.

    Love,
    Kirsten and Steve and The Opples


Leave a Reply

Categories

