Posted by: aceanderic | July 15, 2008

TUESDAY, JULY 15 (day 65)

You know for the last days I’ve said that Eric didn’t follow commands as much as before, and that he slept more then usual. You know what? Always follow that little voice inside you. Follow that voice even if it’s just hinting something to you. I had a feeling something was wrong, and so did his therapy team today. He just didn’t work with them today as much as before. I don’t know what’s normal and what not, so I called Eric’s Neurosurgeon and told him about my concern. He requested to have a CT Scan over Eric’s brain done ASAP. So Eric was back in the Emergency Room tonight again for a CT Scan, plus other tests. Turns out there’s a new internal bleeding inside the scull. We don’t know how sever it is, we don’t know how or when it happened but it’s there and it’s not good. Eric is spending the night at the hospital and his Neurosurgeon will see him tomorrow morning. I know Eric is surrounded of excellent doctors tonight but I’m still crazy worried. He was doing so great; there was something new every day, so how did this happen?


Responses

  1. Anna-Carrin keep up the faith. You have done so well up to now. Eric will surprise all of us as he has done so far. He is very strong and so are you. I’m glad that Pam is there with you. We are here for you. Love Auntie Joyce and Uncle Dick

  2. You have good instincts ACE. So good you made that call. Eric has shown how amazing and strong he is and he will get through this too. You are both in our thoughts and prayers every day.

  3. You’re a very smart woman. You did the right thing, you were right. You may have saved his life just by being observant and vigilant. I hope it’s not a big deal, whatever they discovered and I hope Eric can get back to his amazing progress.

  4. Follow your instincts Anna-Carin, you know him better than anyone. Thank goodness the issue was found. Two steps forward, one step back on the long road- still you are moving forward so stay strong and know that there are lost of people behind you.

  5. Anna-Carin,
    I am an old friend of Eric’s and I just learned of this two days ago. I think you are an amazing person and Eric is lucky to have you in his life. Your friends and family are lucky too. I am thinking about you and Eric every day.

  6. I don’t even know what to say other than, thank you so much for taking such good care of Eric and thank God he has you! So- I guess I do know what I want to say (typical Benine family).

    Also, I was reading an article on managing stress yesterday. One of the things the author suggested that was that these stumbling blocks, which seem so big at the time, are only hiccups along the way. So, I am keeping my fingers crossed that this is simply a hiccup in Eric’s recovery because he is working so hard.

    All our love,
    Cas

  7. Stay positive ACE. Such great progress has been made. Setbacks happen and I suspect Eric will come back strong. He is so lucky to have you and his family and friends. An amazing support group.


Leave a Reply

Categories

