Posted by: aceanderic | July 18, 2008

FRIDAY, JULY 18 (day 68)

Today I will write the blog… Gina, Eric’s oldest sister ~

Well Eric is going to remain at Legacy due to the fact that he decided to get up in the middle of the night and stand by his bed. A nurse walked by his room and noticed him standing there. Needless to say, they have decided it could be “risky business” to return him to the Rehab Spa, maybe in a few days. Eric did get a new trach today, a bit smaller than the last one but not quite what we had wanted. It’s still a move in the right direction so that’s a good thing.

Today when I arrived at TRACU Eric was in the chair. It was great to see him moving all around, but hard at the same time. His neck is not strong yet so his head keeps pointing down. I kept wanting to push it up and make it stay there. He’s not quite there yet. In his own “Eric” way, he indicated to us that he wanted to get out of the chair. He untied his belt, kicked off his socks and was literally trying to get out of the chair. ACE and the nurse helped him while he moved his feet and legs, pretty cool. Once back in the bed he seemed a bit bothered but then calmed down pretty quickly. I sat there with him for awhile and he slept peacefully. Funny how much he looks like our Dad.

Tomorrow Anna-Carin and I will attend a brain injury support group. It should be informative and surreal. What a special way for ACE to celebrate her birthday. :>


Responses

  1. Happy B-Day, good things will come to those who wait and are patient.

  2. We will be thinking of you tomorrow. Hope that you can have at least a peaceful birthday. Maybe you should get a massage. We will talk to you in a week. With Eric in TRACU you can relax a little.
    Birthday Hugs, Auntie Joyce and Uncle Dick

  3. Thinking of you both as always and wishing you a happy birthday ACE. Keep the faith…Eric will be back to pushing the limits and amazing us all with his determination.

  4. I have been following your blog for several weeks now. I can’t access the web-page from work, so, I have it emailed to me every day. I just wanted to tell you how much your updates mean to me. See, I too have a significant other who sufferred a life-treatening brain injury. Your early blogs brought such a sense of relief– I thought I was the only person who felt the emotions that I felt shortly after my fiancee’s injury. Your candid sharing provided me with the re-assurance that I was not CRAZY! I have read your and your families blogs and felt feelings of understanding, compassion, and empathy. I felt so lost in the beginning-feeling lost in the process, and felt very overwhelmed by the amount of information I needed to learn to make sure my loved one was getting the best care possible. Keep your head up! Eric sounds like he’s made great progress so far- and you’ve stated in earlier blogs-it’s a long road. It is–the moments that you have when he accomplishes something for the first time-those moments that bring tears to your eyes-keep you strong for all the hard moments that come along the journey. I welcome you to contact me if your interested.

  5. My prayers continue to be with your brother….. and you … and your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

