Posted by: aceanderic | July 29, 2008

TUESDAY, JULY 29 (day 79)

I’ve decided to get Eric up in a wheelchair daily and it looks like he’s on board with my plan. He didn’t get any OT or PT time today, which really bugs me, so we took care of it ourselves. Eric moved over to the wheelchair with a little help from the nurse and I. And since no one truly believes Eric’s progress I decided to have Eric show them. He wheeled himself out of the room to the nurse floor in the middle of the action. Everyone just stopped and looked at him. “Whey to go Eric, nice to see you out here”, they said. I was a proud wife, couching him forward. It took more effort for him today then yesterday, I know he was very tired due to all the activity yesterday. But Eric kept on pushing himself forward, minimal steps, but he was moving forward. I just helped him here and there. I asked him several times if he was tired and wanted to stop, but he was determined to show them all what he could do. And he did!

We took a well-deserved break in the Children’s Garden. Anyone walking by probably thought Eric and I was just like any romantic couple in love, Eric looked like any man wearing a hospital gown (and a trach). What they didn’t know was that this was the first time this couple had a romantic moment in 79 days so the hugs and kisses was better then ever😉 …beep…beep…no more comments! I couldn’t help it but tears came rolling down my chin while we were sitting there. I miss having Eric around so darn much so it hurts. The house is so empty without him. I told him that’s why I cried so he gave me a hug as comfort. He’s not coming across scared about the situation, and he acts very calm. I’m sure he knows just as much as I do that he will be ok. It’s just the time and the unknown that’s hard to deal with.


Responses

  1. My dad always told me: with small and steady steps you climb a mountain.

  2. That is so great! Thank you so much for the blog…i really look forward to reading it everyday. I wish I were here to see the great progress in person but i am definitely there in spirit. Rock on Eric!

  3. Gave me chills… … … …

    We are coming tomorrow to visit!

  4. Hi there,
    I didn’t know Eric in school (I was in the class of ’86). But I ended up on the BBQ evite and have been reading your blog ever since. I am in Maryland. My birthfather had a stroke in January 2007, and your blog is so much like what my birthmother went through when he was in the hosp. I believe that Eric can get better, it will take time, though. His age and physical health are great indicators, and the brain is an amazing machine – it will learn to rewire itself. It will take lots of small steps and probably a few steps backward at times. It sounds like you have a great support system, which is wonderful for you because you can’t do it all on your own. Be sure to take time for yourself and take care of your own physical and mental health — caring for someone in Eric’s situation can be extremely draining, as you are fully aware. Keep your chin up and know I am sending positive vibes to you and Eric.
    Thanks for sharing your blog.
    Susan Sanborn

  5. Wish I could be there to see Eric doing wheelies! We’ll head back down as soon as we can. Way to go Eric!

  6. ACE, great stuff! You and I have talked a little about the PT thing. I really encourage you to look up information on “inpatient rehab” with regards to hospitals. If Emman. doesn’t have one and they are not doing enough, let them know you want Eric in one right away. Inpatient rehab patients have a PT, OT, and a ST assigned to them as well as a physician (usually a physiatrist) who heads up the team.
    It was great to see Eric the other day. I’m going to get in to see him by the end of the week.
    Robin and I want you to know we are thinking about you always and read the blog everyday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

