Posted by: aceanderic | August 2, 2008

SATURDAY, AUGUST 2 (day 83)

Hello all it’s Marci again (Eric’s sister). I have to say that today was GREAT (for me)! It is the first time since the accident that when I visited, Eric was NOT SLEEPING. It is kind of a joke around town that Eric always sleeps when I come down to visit…….but not today. When I walked into the room Eric immediately recognized me. I mean immediately! It was not the response that I wanted, but he knew it was me. Eric’s face became all bothered and then he started to cry. I went right over, hugged him tight, and told him that I was here to visit and help him and that he was OK. While crying, he started to talk/growl and then he tried to say my name. MMMM at first then Mrrr. I was so very happy I can’t even describe it. HE KNEW IT WAS ME!!!!! We had this same scenario a few more time until he realized that it really was ok and that I was not going anywhere. I think it also helped that I had the biggest grin on my face the entire time. I can’t quite put into words why Eric was crying but I knew why. Too much, it is all just too much.

OK enough about me ……Eric was rubbing his head and discovered the shunt. He took my hand and placed it on the back of his head right where the shunt was and looked at me. He wanted to know what it was. I explained that it was a shunt and that it was there to help his brain. Oh almost forgot…they took the trach out today and Eric did just fine.🙂

Everything that Eric was doing today was just unbelievable to me. I was here just under two weeks ago and he was sleeping, now I see Eric in there. At one point he reached for my hand, brought it to his mouth and kissed it………that was truly something that Eric does to me. It was great…..though I had to keep from crying.

Eric’s good friend Rob came to visit as well today. When he came in the room Eric looked at him and then gave him a smile. It was a great smile. He was talking/growling at Rob for quite some time. He must have been telling him a story because he had hand gestures just like Eric would normally do. Unfortunately none of us had any idea what he was saying. Thanks Rob, you were awesome. I can’t wait to go back tomorrow and see what is next. I am sure it will be a long tiring day but I am up for the challenge! Anna-Carin needs another day off to recoup and regain her strength.


Responses

  1. I’m so happy for both you and Eric! What a special moment in his recovery. As always, our thoughts, love and prayers are with you all.

  2. Marci,
    How nice that Eric has you there! The history that brothers and sisters have together is amazing and helpful to Eric in these very confusing days of recovery.
    Bless you and Eric and the whole family.
    Colleen

  3. I’m crying…this is an amazing journey. I’m amazed by Eric’s progress and touched that a man knows such love in his life. Thank you all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

