Posted by: aceanderic | August 5, 2008

TUESDAY, AUGUST 5 (day 86)

Hello, I’m back in business again… I took some time off from Eric to catch up on paper work and to try to relax. I did catch up on stuff, but the relaxing part didn’t work so well. If I only could describe in words how so much more complicated and stressful Corporate American is making my life; unbelievable!! Taking care of Eric would be a piece of cake if I didn’t have to deal with all the politics and policies that come with it!! Sorry, I just had to vent for a second.

It was great to see Eric again this morning; I’ve really missed him. I think he missed me too because he gave me a huge smile when he woke up and saw me sitting by his bed. He smiled and was told something that only Eric could understand. He was so funny this morning, totally played jokes with the nurse and I. Well, actually he was being a pain in the butt, but that smile on his face was just the cutest and goofiest smile I’ve ever seen so it was impossible to be mad at him. He got out of the bed, and walked out to the hallway with help of two nurses and he actually walk about 100 feet total with some rests in between. He was just smiling away!

I’d say that Eric is completely in stage four on the Ranco Scale now. One thing to remember is that he keeps on going in and out of feeling secure and being frightened. There were a few times during the day where I had to reassure him that’s he’s in a safe place; he was really scared and didn’t know what was going on around him. But overall he was in a good mood and did great. We’re moving forward!

It was time to get out of bed again in the afternoon and into the wheelchair. At least that’s what I thought. Eric used all his strength to get out of the wheelchair so I had to untie his safety belt so he could stand up. I didn’t have the PT team with me, and I knew the nurses were busy so I asked for a walker for Eric. They looked at me surprised, probably thinking that it was too soon for Eric to walk with a walker. Eric walked with a walker, by himself, for about 25 feet. All I did was to pull the wheelchair behind him and walking next to him just in case he would fall. He sat down in the wheelchair once he reached the wall on the other side and he was proud. I was proud. He gave me a big smile while nodding his head; he did great!! We did however get in trouble by the Therapy Coordinator for not using the proper safety persuasion. She was of course proud of Eric, and still she had to tell us her concern. Eric’s responded with a laughed. Look out everyone…Eric is coming through and you can’t stop him. Now we just need to get Eric start talking again.


Responses

  1. 25 small steps for Eric is a giant leap – you should be proud! (Rules be damned🙂 Keep up the good work. You already know what he’s going to say when he starts talking again! It’ll be soon.

  2. Whoooo! You go Eric!! I can’t wait to see him this weekend and spend some quality (busy I know) time with my brother (not sleeping!). I look forward to the smiles and getting some big hugs. I know it will be emotional so I’m preparing now. ;>

    Thanks ACD, Marci, Mom and special friends for taking such beautiful care of Eric and keeping us informed every step of the way. It means everything to me as his sister living too far away to be helpful the way I’d like. The road is long but rewarding.

    XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

