Posted by: aceanderic | August 7, 2008

THURSDAY, AUGUST 7 (day 88)

Today was….depressing. I’m worried that Eric is moving into another setback. What I’ve read about TBI is that a TBI survivor will have several setbacks during recovery for years to come. I’ve read about it, I know it will happen but I’m not sure if I’m ready for it. Will I ever be? And will Eric ever be ready? Something changed Eric after I placed the color coned in front of him yesterday. I’m worried I triggered something bad off, but I knew the day had to come when he realizes what’s going on. Eric had a fever this afternoon so he could be getting sick, or something major could be wrong, he could just be tired from all the activity, or depressed…. I don’t know yet but something is definitely off, and I will talk with the doctor about it in the morning.

However, he did spend most of the morning in the wheelchair, keeping his two aunts busy by following him around. He did get some exercise done today, and I guess so did they.

A new Speech Therapist came by and she actually seamed to care about Eric and she really wanted to help, which I can’t say that the other person did…. This will be a huge help for Eric and I’m looking forward to see what she can do for him.


Responses

  1. Hi Anna, I saw and read your story in the Portland Tribune, Thursday 8/7/08, issue. It was and is such a great story. I must say, I cried, and writing this email to you, I could cry again. I am so sorry for what has happened to Eric, to you, and to both of you as a couple. I know that you are going through some very trying experiences, moments, days, minutes, seconds, etc. [History: on 1/12/08 at 9:45am, Saturday, my life, my husands life, and our lives as a married couple, changed forever. We were walking our dog, Chauncee, and when he stopped to potty, Bob, my husband, bent down to pick up the poop. From the corner of my eye, I saw a van comming. Long story short. The van hit Bob and pinned him into a tree. The man/boy (23) was drunk. Wow, this is difficult to tell and it’s been almost 7 months. Bob was just being a good citizien, no one wants dog poop in their yard. To this day we still clean up after Chauncee, unfortnately, with a little more aprenhension. Bob is home now, he spent 4 months in the hospital. Bob suffered several injuries, which we are still dealing with today and will forever. His main injury has been the amputation of his right leg, at the hip. Well, I think his main injury is psychological and trying to figure out where to go with his life from here. We are hoping that he can get a prosthetic, but his amputation is so rare, that we are unsure if the prosthetic will be more of a hinderance that anything else. It’s been hard on both of us individually and as a couple. We take it day by day and with a lot of patience.]. Ok, enough of my story.

    There is so much I want to say. So many thought running through my head. I know you are overwhelmed with everything, at least I was … still am.

    I will be reading your blog daily. Also, you will BOTH be in my prayers.

    If you ever need to chat or have questions, or need to vent, or anything, please don’t hesitate to email me or call. My cell phone is 503-341-1490.

    Try and smile today for you have another day with Eric. That is and of itself is a blessing.

  2. Anna-Carin, hang in there sweetie, it’s going to be OK. Take your time to feel sad and then do what you do best, focus and make things happen! :>

    Maybe Hunter, Ava and I will be able to help perk him back up, we’ll do our best.

    See you in the morning and will be there Monday to care for him while you’re taking your “healing” class. It sounds interesting, and hopefully helpful in Eric’s recovery.

    xoxo

  3. I know it seems like a lifetime ago that Eric’s accident happened, but it has been less than 90 days and the fact that he has improved SO MUCH is miraculous. He will rebound again. He is probably just not feeling well. If he has any tubes (G-tube, etc), check for an infection or redness. My birthfather got MRSA, the really strong staph infection, while he was in the hospital, and he got very sick before they realized it and treated it.

    Take care,
    Susan

  4. I happened upon your site after I read the article yesterday in the Tribune. As an SLP, I would recommend using a picture communication board with Eric. This may include pictures of basic needs (I need to use the bathroom, I’m hungry, thirsty, uncomfortable, etc.) to help him communicate. He can point to pictures to communicate and also to answer questions. If you have scrapbooks, photo albums, it would help to look at them together and talk to him about family to help with his memory and encourage communication. If Eric groans or attempts to say a word, encourage him to do that along with using gestures, and if you decipher the word he is trying to say, repeat it for him and say oh you mean to say “blank.” In that way, he will feel empowered and not discouraged to communicate. Best wishes in Eric’s recovery.

  5. Hey Anna Carin

    Don’t get too hung up on his not being able to identify a color. He has identified so many people and recalls so many memories. It may just be that he had become color blind and can’t understand why he can’t “see” the cone correctly. Also remeber that medications can have a huge influence on him and his abilities, not just his injuries.

    Take Care and Lots of Love

    Heather and Bob

  6. I went through a somewhat similar thing as you in 2002 – two months after our marriage, my husband was riding his bike and was hit by a catering truck that ran a red light. He had a severe TBI and had to relearn everything. His recovery took over a year and the emotional healing took even longer. I hadn’t heard about your husband’s accident in May, because we were welcoming our son into the world. Almost six years after his accident, life has changed, but we are happy. It was a long, hard road to get here.

    There are a ton of resources here in Portland that helped us through some tough times – and some great staff at the outpatient rehab my husband went to for several months (Brain Injury Rehabilitation Center in Beaverton). He is still involved there as a volunteer.

    I know that no matter how many stories you hear, it doesn’t make what you are going through any easier – or take away the pain. The most frustrating thing I encountered is that no one TBI is the same, so it was hard to get a sense of what to expect, because there was no one prognosis. All I can say is that what you are doing for Eric, your love, your commitment to him and your perseverance as his advocate will help his recovery.

    It sounds like you have some great support right now through friends and family, but if at some point you are ready and would like to talk, or would like some information on the resources available for TBI survivors, feel free to contact me.

    Hang in there… Jamie


Leave a Reply

Categories

