Posted by: aceanderic | September 25, 2008

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 25 (day 137)

Eric’s mom spent the day with him today while I was home taking care of paper work, phone calls, and a discharge plan for where Eric is going next. It feels like I’m getting somewhere and I’m getting comfortable with the plan I have; with just some more steps and phone calls I should be ready to talk with the insurance company about it…. Eric’s speech therapist gave him a list of new letters to pronounce, and taught him how to read the calendar. Having to relearn everything from the beginning must be the most frustrating thing for a person. Eric knows he used to know these things so when it’s not working for him, he gets embarrass and frustrated; we are just telling him to be patience and things will come back. He read Pam a story; being a teacher she knows how to teach people how to read, and they practiced writing his signature. He also did a lot of walking, and he did his leg and arm exercises. His knees are bothering him, which is slowing down the process of getting his legs stronger. Unfortunately there’s not much we can do about it until he has his knee surgery, he’s going to have to live with the pain for an uncertain time.

Eric convinced, begged, and pleaded Pam in to taking her to Taco Bell for lunch again. He looked at her proud and said “I’m taking my mom out for lunch”, very cute. Eric is very anxious about coming home this Saturday and is counting the days. He asked her several times throughout the day what today’s date was, and he called me four times to check in with me. He’s learning how to use the phone so I’ guessing I’ll be getting more and more phone calls from him soon.


Responses

  1. Ha, he is quite the smooth talker! Its just a matter of time before he is back in full swing…

  2. Hi ACE,
    I’ve been friends with Marci since we were in 2nd grade. I’ve been following your blog and am incredibly impressed with your strength, and of course Eric’s. I didn’t read the blog for a couple of weeks and was amazed at Eric’s prgress! Truly inspirational and has helped me stop sweating the small, insignificant stuff. I have fond memories of Eric as a little kid, pestering Marci and I when I was over playing or spending the night. I was sorry to miss the fundraiser but am glad the website gives ideas on how to help. I just wanted you to know that there is another family praying for Eric from long distance. Thanks for taking the time to write the blog and keep all of us informed. Eric, keep fighting (and stop flirting with nurses)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

